access your account
Community partners

Fair Housing Information


The Fair Housing Act prohibits housing discrimination based on any of these seven protected classes:

  • Race

  • Color

  • National Origin

  • Religion

  • Gender

  • Familial status

  • Disability

  • For example, it is illegal to take any of the following actions based solely on being a member of the protected classes:

    • Refuse to rent, sell, or negotiate for housing

    • Set different terms or conditions or privileges for the sale or rental of a dwelling

    • Falsely deny that housing is available for inspection, sale or rental

    • Persuade homeowners to sell or rent a dwelling by suggesting that people of a particular protected class have moved or are about to move into a neighborhood

    • Refuse to make reasonable accommodations in rules, policies, practices or services necessary for a disabled person to use housing

    • Refuse to make a mortgage loan

    • Impose different conditions on a loan such as different interest rates or fees

    • Refuse to provide homeowners insurance or impose less favorable conditions

    This list is not comprehensive but provides a sampling of issues where the Fair Housing Act would apply.

    Equal Access to Housing in HUD Programs – Regardless of Sexual Orientation or Gender Identity- Through this final rule, HUD implements policy to ensure that its core programs are open to all eligible individuals and families regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity, or marital status.

    The Age Discrimination Act of 1975 prohibits discrimination on the basis of age in programs or activities receiving Federal financial assistance.

    If you think your rights may have been violated, contact the Denver Regional Office of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development:
    1670 Broadway
    Denver, CO 80202-4801
    TTY 303.672.5248

    Reasonable Accommodations Under the Fair Housing Act

    Accessibility (Design & Construction) Requirements for Covered Multifamily Dwellings Under the Fair Housing Act

    Wyoming Analysis of Impediments (AI)
    In exchange for receiving federal funds, entitlement jurisdictions are required to submit certification of affirmatively furthering fair housing to the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). This certification has three elements:

    1. Complete an Analysis of Impediments to Fair Housing Choice (AI);
    2. Take actions to overcome the effects of any impediments identified; and
    3. Maintain records reflecting the actions taken in response to the analysis.

    Download the full Wyoming Analysis of Impediments to Fair Housing Choice here.

WCDA news

WCDA Closed February 19, 2018

WCDA will be closed all day Monday, February 19, 2018. We will reopen with regular…read more »

more news »